Beauty Lessons Every Woman Should Know

Beauty lessons are often handed down by our mothers or the women in our lives. My mom definitely taught me a lot about beauty and let me discover my own meaning of true beauty.

I didn’t start wearing makeup until I was seventeen and when I did, I always thought I knew best. While my mom did give me input on how I styled my hair and wore my clothes, I barely listened. It wasn’t until I grew older that I finally learned she’s always right.

It still makes me laugh at the ridiculous things I did and how my mom told me so, but she always let me do what I thought looked good to myself.

Here are some lessons I’ve learned about.

Don’t over-pluck your eyebrows

Whenever those brows start becoming unruly, you automatically reach for the tweezers. While having tamed eyebrows can never be a bad thing, it can turn into a situation when you over-pluck. Tweezing or even threading your brows can disturb the natural hair growth cycle. Regularly ripping out hairs can stunt hair growth and in some cases cause traction alopecia, which is a type of semi-permanent hair loss. Not good.

Instead of tweezing and threading, try using a razor made specifically for eyebrows. It’s more labor intensive as the hairs do grow back quickly (just like when you shave your legs) but you don’t run the risk of damaging the follicles.

Moisturizer makes a difference

If your skin ever feels dry and itchy, it means it’s crying for moisture. Our skin becomes irritated and dry from many causes—anything from the weather climate to changes in our bodies. When it starts feeling that way, it’s time to moisturize.

The benefits of applying a well-suited moisturizer are, of course, relieving that irritation but it also applies a layer of protection that lasts all day.

To ensure you get the most out of your moisturizer, simply apply it by stroking upwards. Going “against the grain” of your skin allows any liquid or cream to be absorbed fully into deep tissue.

Exfoliate, exfoliate, exfoliate

After a long day, you want to come home and relax. So does your skin. When you exfoliate, it removes all the dead skin cells and circulates blood flow. Exfoliating on a regular basis can help achieve healthy, radiant skin. It’s amazing how taking five minutes out of your day to take care of your skin makes a huge difference.

SPF is everything

The enemy of our skin? The sun. Moreover, long exposure in the sun. Spending a day at the beach or at a park is always fun, but not when you come home with a sunburn. Ouch! To combat the harmful effects of the sun, use sunscreen or a moisturizer with SPF.

SPF stands for sun protection factor. It measures the length of protection before you start experiencing the redness and irritation of a sunburn. So, if a product says it is SPF 50, that means that you’re able to be out in the sun for fifty times longer than someone not using a product with SPF.

 

Knowing all of this, it really has changed my beauty routine. Having a system in place is a good way of learning self-care which helps with loving yourself in return. We all need to take the time to pamper ourselves, no matter what.

 

+ What are some beauty lessons you’ve learned?

4 comments

  1. Chantel Keona · July 21

    Awesome beauty lessons.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beautosaur · July 21

    I wish I could go back in time and leave my eyebrows alone 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

