Social Media Etiquette

In this modern day, social media is so much more than what it used to be. Businesses, whether big or small, are utilizing these platforms to connect to their audiences and gain new ones. I use social media not only for my blog but also for my small handmade jewelry business, Kaev Designs. It has helped me reach new people and create relationships. But there is a wrong way and a right way to go about it so I’ve curated this list to help you keep in mind the important key steps when using social media.

Reply back- either as soon as possible or when you first get the notification. It may be a pain if you have a lot of comments but it’s well worth it. It makes the commenter feel heard and everyone loves to have a good conversation, even if your reply is a “thank you”.

I once commented on an Instagram post with over 50 comments and she still replied to them all. It may have taken her a couple days to do so, but she still did it.

Treat everyone the same- this one may sound weird but I’ve seen it where accounts will treat their friends differently than random people commenting. And I know what you’re thinking: “But they’re random people, I don’t know them.” And I totally get that. But when you’re a blogger, maker, or brick and mortar store, you’re a business. Treating everyone with the same amount of respect and friendliness is top priority. Customers/clients/readers want to feel heard, appreciated and be a part of your tribe.

Don’t restrict- I’ll be honest, when I see accounts that say, “No DMs”, I get turned off. That’s like saying, “Don’t talk to me.”

Don’t be afraid of interactions; whether they’re asking a question, have a comment or something else, it’s good to see what they have to say rather than shutting them out completely.

Some people will only use one social media platform for all their interactions. If someone has a question about a piece of your artwork and you clearly have stated in your bio, “No DMs”, I can guarantee you they won’t go the length to email or go to your website to ask because they’ll feel shunned and won’t bother. Potential sale, collaboration, commission, question, comment, friendship… Gone.

Treat every DM as an opportunity, not a burden.

Commenting has benefits- if you like that person’s shoes or porcelain dish they made, say so!

You know the saying, “If you build it, they will come”; that doesn’t work for businesses. No one magically arrives on your website or social media account the instant they go online. It takes time and effort for your audience to find you and to build up. And how do you do that? Through interactions.

Here’s another question: what’s behind every business? A human (or multiple humans). You’re human. We’re designed to interact with one another so why not use your business profile to comment on other pictures or posts? Trust me, I used to think it was weird but it’s really not. It helps. When I get a comment or like or whatever on my social media, I’m always curious to see what their feed looks like! And if I see something I like, then I show it by doing whatever the appropriate response is for that platform.

I’m sure that’s how a lot of people are too, they want to see who is interested in what they’re up to on social media. It brings in more traffic, more engagement and ultimately more awareness of you and your business.


 

Hopefully these tips were helpful and are something to keep in mind next time you receive an interaction through social media!

What Are Your Thoughts?

